THE GOLDEN UNICORN – Artwork by Marina Berlin

Bitify is proud to host The Golden Unicorn Auction by the artist Marina Berlin.

About Marina Berlin

Marina is a Russian-born artist, based in San Francisco. She initially trained as a painter at Massachusetts College of Art and Design where she received a BFA and several awards, including a Merit Scholarship and Art School Trust Award. Marina spent years with a brush–of one type or another–in hand, first painting on large canvases, then moving onto human faces while working as a makeup artist in TV and film.

In 2013, Marina discovered wire mesh quite by accident while building an armature for an urban greenspace. She had epiphany, quit her day job and locked herself in the studio for a year to work exclusively on wire mesh sculpture, pushing the boundaries of an underappreciated medium.

Marina considers herself a deep crafter, but she has always been fascinated with technology and recently began incorporating VR and AR into her practice.

About The Golden Unicorn

Marina Berlin has created The Golden Unicorn, a one-of-a-kind artwork that can only be purchased with Bitcoin. Made out of industrial wire mesh alchemically transformed to a golden color, this creature is not just a work of art; it’s its own currency: the Unicoin.

The Golden Unicorn is being sold to the highest bidder via an online auction. Together, we will determine the price of one Unicoin and explore the age-old question: what is value?


The auction will start on Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 12:00 AM PDT 7:00 AM UTC  and will run for 45 days. The auction will end on Wednesday, April 25 at 11:59 PM PDT (Thursday, April 26 at 06:59 AM UTC).

Artwork Overview

Artist: Marina Berlin
Name: Golden Unicorn
Dimensions: L 20” W 13” D 26” (horn included)
Materials: Wire mesh
Produced in: 2018
Shipping from: San Francisco, California
The Golden Unicorn Website:
Artist Website: